Trending News

National Honours -2017 today at Nelum Pokuna

(UDHAYAM, COLOMBO) – The ceremony to award National Honors for 90 distinguished personalities, who rendered a noble service to the country will be held this evening (20th March) at Nelum Pokuna theatre, Colombo under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena. This year the ceremony is held after 12 years.

The honours; Deshamanya (Titular), Sri Lankabhimanya (Titular), Deshabandu (Titular), Vidyajothi (Titular), Kala Keerthi (Titular), Sri Lanka Sikhamani (Titular), Vidya Nidhi (Titular), Kala Suri (Titular), Sri Lanka Thilaka (Non-titular), Veera Prathapa (Non- titular), will be bestowed at this ceremony.

National honours Sri Lanka Ranjana (Titular); the second highest honour awarded to non-nationals for distinguished service of a highly meritorious nature to Sri Lanka in particular and/ or humanity in general will also be presented at this ceremony.

Those ninety persons were selected out of 426 applications received and the nominations are inspected by an intellectual panel.

According to the National Honours Act 1986, the list of awardees will be gazetted.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top